The original indoor swimming hall, which was built back to the 1970s, was in urgent need of renovation, as it no longer met the current requirements for an indoor swimming hall. Therefore, the original swimming hall was adapted to meet today’s technical demands and needs through a general renovation, and a new addition that includes a family area. The overall concept of the addition to the Salzgitter indoor swimming pool, along with the conversion and renovation of the existing building was divided into two construction phases, so that daily swimming operations could continue, with the exception of short-term interruptions.

In terms of design, the swimming hall’s dimensions are divided into several restrained structures with offset flat roofs, thus helping to better integrate the building into the surrounding landscape. The generous glazing on the south and east facades create a flowing transition between indoor and outdoor. In contrast to this are covered areas, with subdued, only moderately lighted areas, in which a more intimate atmosphere prevails. All user-relevant functions are on one level. The visitor enters the building on the ground floor from a plaza, and has imidiately a good view of the bathing halls from the lounge areas in the entrance hall. From the changing rooms the guests reach a continuous barefoot corridor, which serves as a central distribution point. The swimming halls are located south of the changing rooms in a row, and can be separated from each other with large glass partition doors.

The existing swimming facilities was updated with a swimming pool for classes, which has a movable floor, a multi-purpose pool and a children’s pool. This way, there is something for every age group. At the corridor between the hall for pool for swim classes and the sports pool hall, is the lifeguard station from which all parts of the facility can be seen.

The kiosk catering is be centrally located and can thus serve the seats in and around the children’s area on a short way. On the exterior to the east and south of the new indoor pool are open spaces for sunbathing area. In the eastern facade is a terrace for outdoor gastronomy.

Photography: Philipp Neise

Related Projects

Das aus den 1970er Jahren stammende Bad wies dringenden Sanierungsbedarf aus, da es nicht mehr den derzeitigen Anforderungen an ein Hallenbad entsprach und wurde deshalb im Zuge einer Generalsanierung an die heutigen technischen Anforderungen und Bedürfnisse angepasst und um einen Familienbereich erweitert. Das Gesamtkonzept der Erweiterung des Hallenfreibades Salzgitter mit Umbau und Sanierung des Altbestandes gliederte sich in zwei Bauabschnitte, um so den Schwimmbetrieb von kurzfristigen Unterbrechungen abgesehen kontinuierlich weiterführen zu können.

Gestalterisch wird die Baumasse des Schwimmbades in mehrere zurückhaltende Baukörper mit versetzten Flachdächern aufgegliedert und so eine bessere Einbindung in die Landschaft erreicht. Durch die großzügigen Verglasungen nach Süden und Osten wird ein fließender Übergang zwischen Innen und Außen erzeugt. Im Kontrast dazu stehen gedeckte Bereiche mit gedämpften, nur mäßigen Lichtaufkommen, in denen eine intimere Atmosphäre herrscht.Alle nutzerrelevanten Funktionen liegen auf einer Ebene. Der Besucher betritt das Gebäude erdgeschossig vom Vorplatz und hat von der Eingangshalle mit Aufenthaltsbereichen bereits einen guten Einblick in die Badehallen. Von den Umkleiden erreichen die Gäste einen durchgehenden Barfußgang der als zentraler Verteiler dient. Die Schwimmhallen liegen südlich des Umkleidetraktes in Reihe und können mittels Türanlagen voneinander getrennt werden.

Das vorhandene Schwimmangebot wird durch ein Kursbecken mit Hubboden, ein Mehrzweckbecken, und ein Kinderbecken ergänzt, so dass jede Altersgruppe das passende Angebot nutzen kann.Allen Wasserflächen sind großzügige Liege- und Aufenthaltsflächen zugeordnet. Am Verteilergang zwischen Kursbeckenhalle und Sportbeckenhalle erhält der Schwimmmeister einen Platz, von dem aus alle Teile der Anlage einzusehen sind.

Die Kioskgastronomie wird zentral angeordnet und kann so die Sitzplätze in der und am inneren Kinderbereich auf kurzem Wege bedienen.Östlich und südlich des neuen Hallenbades werden die Freiflächen als Liegewiese wiederhergestellt. Im östlichen Bereich entsteht eine Terrasse für die Außengastronomie.

Fotos: Philipp Neise

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren